INDIANAPOLIS (Thursday, May 19, 2011) – IZOD IndyCar Series points leader Will Power topped the speed charts as practice for the 100th anniversary Indianapolis 500 resumed following a two-day weather-related break. Patrick posted a quick lap of 226.267 mph to place 10th on the speed chart.

With 12 minutes left in the six-hour session, Verizon Team Penske’s Power unseated Alex Tagliani atop the speed chart with a lap of 227.778 mph (fastest of the month) to earn the $5,000 Grady Brothers Construction Fastest Lap of the Day award. All 40 entrants took on the track, recording a total of 2,394 laps, and the top 38 cars were separated by one second.

Tagliani, driving the No. 77 Bower & Wilkins car for Sam Schmidt Motorsports, had a quick lap of 227.652. Team Penske’s Ryan Briscoe (227.217) and three-time Indy 500 winner Helio Castroneves (226.927) followed, and Townsend Bell in the No. 99 Herbalife Schmidt Pelfrey Racing car was fifth (226.741).

The yellow flag flew early in the session when Simona de Silvestro’s No. 78 Nuclear Clean Air Energy car made heavy contact with the outside retaining wall in the North Short Chute and became airborne before catching fire. She was transported to Methodist Hospital to be treated for burns to her hands and released. Her driving status will be determined on Friday.


Pos. Car Name Time Speed
1. 12 Will Power 39.5121 227.778
2. 77 Alex Tagliani 39.5340 227.652
3. 6 Ryan Briscoe 39.6097 227.217
4. 3 Helio Castroneves 39.6604 226.927
5. 99 Townsend Bell 39.6928 226.741

Fastest rookie: #4 JR Hildebrand, sixth, 226.527


Three Indianapolis 500 teams earned the final three spots in the IZOD Indy 500 Pit Stop Challenge during time trials this morning. Teams changed four tires and performed a simulated fueling hookup. The three qualifiers:

1. #82 Tony Kanaan KV Racing Technology-Lotus 7.895 seconds
2. #27 Mike Conway Andretti Autosport 8.634
3. #3 Helio Castroneves Team Penske 9.097

#28 Ryan Hunter-Reay was fourth, 9.134.

Twelve teams will compete in the IZOD Indy 500 Pit Stop Challenge on Miller Lite Carb Day, Friday, May 27. These nine teams previously qualified based on pit performance between the 2010 Indianapolis 500 and the Itaipava Sao Paulo Indy 300 presented by Nestle earlier this month:

KV Racing Technology-Lotus (#5 Sato), Team Penske (#6 Briscoe), Target Chip Ganassi Racing (#9 Dixon), Target Chip Ganassi Racing (#10 Franchitti), Team Penske (#12 Power), Dreyer & Reinbold Racing (#22 Wilson), Andretti Autosport (#26 M. Andretti), Newman/Haas Racing (#06 Hinchcliffe), Dale Coyne Racing (TBD).


A comparison of the specifications of the No. 32 Marmon “Wasp” that Ray Harroun drove to victory in the inaugural Indianapolis 500 in 1911 and the cars that will compete in the 100th Anniversary Indianapolis 500 on Sunday, May 29.

1911 Marmon “Wasp” 2011 IndyCar Series Car
Weight 2,500 pounds 1,565 pounds
Height 56 inches 38 inches (maximum)
Length 187 inches 192 inches (minimum)
Wheelbase 116 inches 121.5-122 inches
Engine Size 477 cubic inches (7.8 liters) 213.6 cubic inches (3.5 liters)
Engine Horsepower Slightly less than 100 635 at 10,300 RPM
Top Speed 100 mph 230 mph
Tire Dimensions 34″ x 4.5″ (Firestone) 25.8 x 10″ (Firestone front)26.8-27.3″ x 14-14.5″ (Firestone rear)
Fuel Gasoline 100 percent fuel-grade ethanol


–press release

Related External Links

Comments are closed.