The three four-time winners of the Indianapolis 500 – A.J. Foyt, Rick Mears and Al Unser – are starting from the front row of “The Greatest 33” after earning the most votes from Indianapolis 500 fans worldwide.

Racing fans selected their dream lineup of the 33 greatest drivers in Indianapolis 500 history from March 18-May 14 at The top 33 drivers in the balloting were revealed Sunday, May 15 during practice for the 100th Anniversary Indianapolis 500.

Foyt, the first four-time winner, earned the highest score of any driver, followed by Mears and Unser.

Occupying the second row are three-time winners Bobby Unser, Helio Castroneves and Johnny Rutherford. 1969 winner Mario Andretti, three-time winner Wilbur Shaw and two-time winner Bill Vukovich are in the third row.

Three current Indianapolis 500 competitors are among The Greatest 33, Helio Castroneves (fifth), Dario Franchitti (19th) and Scott Dixon (33rd).

The Greatest 33 program and its interactive website are key components of the 100th Anniversary Indianapolis 500, scheduled for Sunday, May 29 at IMS.

(Starting lineup order determined by number of vote scores received in fan balloting)
Row 1
1. A.J. Foyt
2. Rick Mears
3. Al Unser
Row 2
4. Bobby Unser
5. Helio Castroneves
6. Johnny Rutherford
Row 3
7. Mario Andretti
8. Wilbur Shaw
9. Bill Vukovich
Row 4
10. Emerson Fittipaldi
11. Al Unser Jr.
12. Louis Meyer
Row 5
13. Mauri Rose
14. Parnelli Jones
15. Gordon Johncock
Row 6
16. Arie Luyendyk
17. Rodger Ward
18. Jim Clark
Row 7
19. Dario Franchitti
20. Tom Sneva
21. Bobby Rahal
Row 8
22. Mark Donohue
23. Michael Andretti
24. Ralph DePalma
Row 9
25. Ray Harroun
26. Tommy Milton
27. Danny Sullivan
Row 10
28. Graham Hill
29. Dan Gurney
30. Jim Rathmann
Row 11
31. Juan Pablo Montoya
32. Tony Bettenhausen
33. Scott Dixon

–press release

Related External Links

Comments are closed.