Dover Quick Facts

May 12, 2011
by Alan

Special Notes
Martin Truex Jr. will be making his 200th start
Kenny Wallace will inch ever closer to the 500 club by making his 499th series race. He’s set to reach 500 on May 22 at Iowa Speedway
Kyle Busch, has the opportunity to tie Mark Martin’s series all-time wins record at 49.
May 15, 2011 will officially be Jimmie Johnson Day in Delaware

Track Data
Track Size: 1 mile
Banking/Corners: 24 degrees
Banking/Straights: 9 degrees
Frontstretch: 1,076 feet
Backstretch: 1,076 feet

1969 Dover International Speedway opened as Dover Downs International Speedway
1969 The first NASCAR Sprint Cup race was held on July 6 (Pole: David Person Winner: Richard Petty)
1971 Race length was changed to 500 miles (the first two races were 300 miles)
1995 Track surface was changed to concrete
1997 Race length was changed to 400 miles
2002 The track name was changed to Dover International Speedway.

Interesting Facts
There have been 82 NASCAR Sprint Cup races held here.
Since 1971 there have been two races held here every year
David Pearson has held the pole the most at 6 times (35 different drivers have been in the pole position)
Mark Martin, Jeff Gordon, Ryan Newman have all held the pole postion four times
32 different winners. Bobby Allison (7), Richard Petty (7), Jimmie Johnson (6)
50 Races at Dover have been won from the top Ten Postion; 17 race have been won from outside the top ten starting positions
13 divers have won from the pole postion
Deepest in the pack that someone has won from has been position number 37 (Kyle Petty, 1995)
Several active drivers had their first start at Dover, including three past champions: David Ragan (finished 42nd in 2006), Kurt Busch (18th in 2000), Matt Kenseth (sixth in 1998) and Bobby Labonte (34th in 1991).
In addition, Matt Kenseth (2002) and Michael Waltrip (1991) earned their first pole at Dover. Martin Truex Jr. won his first race there (2007).

Track Records
Track qualifying record: Jeremy Mayfield (161.522 mph, 22.288 seconds,6-04-04)
Track race record: Mark Martin (132.719 mph, 9-21-97)

Driver Rating at Darlington
Jimmie Johnson 116.3
Greg Biffle 110.1
Matt Kenseth 109.3
Carl Edwards 103.1
Kyle Busch 102.8
Mark Martin 98.1
Kurt Busch 96.8
Ryan Newman 96.2
Jeff Gordon 90.5
Jeff Burton 90.2

Driver’s Thoughs on Dover (embedded audio files)
AJ Allmendinger
Kyle Busch
Jimmie Johnson
Juan Pablo Montoya
Ryan Newman


Related External Links

Comments are closed.