Texas Motor Speedway Quick Facts

April 7, 2011
by Alan

Special Note on Martinsville
Johnny Sauter became only the second NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver to take home the famed grandfather clock trophy given to race winners by Martinsville Speedway on Saturday.
The clock will make a nice welcome home gift for his new daughter born early on Monday, April 4, 2011. Baby girl Sauter –Paige Gertrude — weighed 7lbs, 5oz.
It was the second child for Sauter and his wife, Cortney.

This Weekend Milestones
Jeff Burton will have his 900th NASCAR national series races start on Sunday.
589 Sprint Cup
306 Nationwide
4 Camping World Truck
Kyle Bush needs to lead 117 laps and he will reach 20,000 in his NASCAR career

Track Data
Track Size: 1.5 miles
Race Length: 501 miles
Banking corners: 24 degrees
Banking straights: 5 degrees
Frontstretch: 2,250 feet
Backstretch: 1,330 feet

1995 Construction began
1997 The first NASCAR race was a NASCAR Nationwide Series event on April 5
1997 The first NASCAR Sprint Cup race was on April 6 (winner: Jeff Burton)
1998 Jermey Mayfield was the first pole winner (qualifying for the inaugural race in 1997 was canceled)
2006 Kashe Kahne won from the pole position (so far the only one to do so)

Interesting Facts
20 Sprint Cup Series Races. 1 per season 1997-2004 then two per season since 2005
4 Drivers have ran in all the races here: Jeff Burton, Jeff Gordon, Bobby Labonte, and Mark Martin
14 Drivers had held the pole position. Dale Earnhardt Jr., Bobby Labonte, Ryan Newman and Jeff Gordon all have held the position twice.
16 Drivers have won. Carl Edwards (3), Denny Hamlin (2) and Jeff Burton (2)
14 races have been won from the top 10 starting positions
31 the position that Matt Kenseth started from to win the race in 2002
2 drivers have had their first Cup wins here: Jeff Burton (1997) and Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2000)
Trevor Bayne made his first series start here in 2010
Martin Truex Jr. won his first pole postition here (11/04/2007
Denny Hamlin and Matt Kenseth are the only two active drivers to average a top 10 finish
2 drivers have had season sweeps here: Carl Ewards (2008) and Denny Hamlin (2010)
7 Texas race winners who have won series championships: Kurt Busch, Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson, Matt Kenseth, Tony Stewart, Dale Jarrett and Bobby Labonte.

Track Records
Track qualifying record: Brian Vickers (196.235 mph, 27.518 seconds, 11-03-06)
Track race record: Carl Edwards (151.055 mph, 11-06-05)

Driver’s Thoughs on Texas Motor Speedway (embedded audio files)
Kasey Kahne
Denny Hamlin
Kevin Harvick
Jimmie Johnson
Ryan Newman


Related External Links

Comments are closed.