Talladega Quick Facts

April 14, 2011
by Alan

Track Data
Track Size: 2.66 miles
Banking/Corners: 33 degrees
Banking/Frontstretch: 16.5 degrees
Banking/Backstretch: 2 degrees
Frontstretch: 4,300 feet
Backstretch: 4,000 feet

1968: Construction began on Alabama International Motor Speedway on May 23
1969: First NASCAR Sprint cup wace was held on September 14 (winner: Richard Brickhouse)
1989: Name changed to Talladega Superspeedway

Interesting Facts
83 Nascar Sprint cup races have been held here since opening (2 per year except the inaugural year)
Bobby Isaac won the first pol position in 1969
35 different drivers have held the pole position, Bill Elliot has the most with eight
41 different drivers have won here. Leading winners are: Dale Earnhardt Sr. (10), Jeff Gordon (6), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (5)
18 drivers have one more than once
32 races have been won from the top-two starting position, 13 from pole
23 races have been won from starting position outside the top ten
2007 Jeff Gordon was the last winner from the Pole Position
2000 Jeff Gordon won from the 36th position
1997 Mark Martin set an all-time NASCAR Cup record for the fastest race. Average speed 188.354, zero cautions, and it took 2 hours 39 minutes 18 second to finish the 500 mile race.
2010 The spring race had the most lead changes at 88 and had 29 lap leaders
Dale Earnhardt Jr. had 4 consecutive wins here from October 2001 thrugh April 2003
Buddy Baker had three consecutive wins here May 1975-May 1976
Since 1993, every race that has ended under green flag has had a margin of victory of uner 1/2 second

Track Records
Track qualifying record: Bill Elliott (212.809 mph, 44.998 seconds, 04-30-87)
Track race record: Mark Martin (188.354 mph, 05-10-97)

Driver Rating at Talladega
Denny Hamlin 93.0
Dale Earnhardt Jr. 92.7
Brian Vickers 89.6
Joey Logano 89.1
Jeff Burton 87.8
David Ragan 87.7
Juan P. Montoya 85.9
Kurt Busch 85.4
Jeff Gordon 84.8
Tony Stewart 84.7

Driver’s Thoughs on Texas Motor Speedway (embedded audio files)
Trevor Bayne
Kyle Busch
Kevin Harvick
Juan Pablo Montoya
Martin Truex Jr.


Related External Links

Comments are closed.