Richmond Quick Facts

April 28, 2011
by Alan

Track Data
Track Size: .75 miles
Banking/Corners: 14 degrees
Banking/Frontstretch: 8 degrees
Banking/Backstretch: 2 degrees
Frontstretch: 1,290 feet
Backstretch: 860 feet

1946 Known as Atlantic Rural Exposition Fairgrounds, held its first race (.5 mile dirt track)
1953 First NASCAR Sprint Cup race was held on April 19th (Buck Baker on pole, Lee Petty winner)
1964 Spring Race was run on Tuesday Night under temporary lighting
1967 Name was changed to Virginia State Fairgrounds
1968 Dirt track became asphalt
1969 Name was changed to Richmond Fairgrounds Raceway
1969 The track was remeasured at .5 miles in April then 0.542 in September
1988 The track was rebuilt as a 3/4 mile “D” Oval
1991 First race under permanent lights on September 7, 1991
1999 First season with both races held at night

Interesting Facts
There have been 109 NASCAR Sprint Cup races at Richmond since the track opened in 1953
48 different pole winners. Bobby Allison (8), Richard Petty (8), Jeff Gordon (5)
47 different drivers have won. Richard Petty leads with 13 wins
3 Number of wins held by these active drives a peice: Dale Earnhardt Jr., Tony Steward, Jimmie Johnson, Terry Labonte
63 of 109 races have been won from the top five starting positions, including 22 from the pole
The last driver to win from the pole was Kyle Busch in May 2010
13 of the past 16 races have been won from the top 10, but three of the last six have been won from a starting position outside the top 10.
Clint Bowyer (spring 2008) won from position #33
Kyle Petty became the first third-generation NASCAR race winner when he won his first race, at Richmond, on Feb. 23, 1986. Richard Petty posted his first Richmond victory in 1961 and Lee won the very first Richmond race in 1953.
Three active drivers have a finish inside the top 10: Kyle Busch (5.2), Denny Hamlin (8.0) and Clint Bowyer (9.8).
Five of the last six races have had a margin of victory less than one second

Track Records
Qualifying record: Brian Vickers (129.983, 20.772 seconds, 05-14-04)
Race record: Dale Jarrett (109.047 mph, 09-06-97)

Driver Rating at Richmond
Denny Hamlin 119.8
Kyle Busch 113.8
Kevin Harvick 112.1
Jeff Gordon 97.8
Tony Stewart 97.4
Clint Bowyer 96.6
Kurt Busch 94.1
Ryan Newman 93.4
Mark Martin 91.6
Jimmie Johnson 89.9

Driver’s Thoughs on Richmond (embedded audio files)
Clint Bowyer
Kevin Harvick
Jimmie Johnson
Tony Stewart
Brian Vickers


Related External Links

Comments are closed.