Bristol Quick Facts

March 18, 2011
by Alan

Track Data
Size: 0.533 miles
Length of Race: 500 laps or 266.5 miles
Banking Corners: 26-30 degrees
Banking Straights: 4-9 degrees

1960:  Broke Ground, originally known as Bristol International Speedway and was exactly 1/2 mile in length
1961:  First NASCAR Sprint Cup race was held on July 30 (winner: Jack Smith, with relief from Johnny Allen)
1969:  Track was reshaped and length changed to 0.533 miles
1978:  Changed name to Bristol International Raceway
1978:  First Night Race
1992:  Asphalt was replaced with concrete
1996:  Name changed to Bristol Motor Speedway
2007:  Track was resurfaced

Top Winning Drivers
Darrell Waltrip (12)
Dale Earnhardt (9)
Rusty Wallace (9)
Cale Yarborough (9)
Kurt Busch (5)
Jeff Gordon (5)
David Pearson (5)
Bobby Allison (4)
Kyle Busch (4)

Interesting Facts
Race Winner has held the pole position 22 times
Both races in 1976 and one race in 1977 where 400 laps, all the rest (two a year) have been 500
Mark Martin held the pole position for both races at Bristol in 1995, 1996, 2009
Mark Martin would reach career milestone 50 poles if he wins the pole this weekend
In 2001 Elliot Sadler won from the starting position of 38th
Five of the last six races had a margin of victory of under 1 second
9 – Bristol poles by Mark Martin and Cale Yarborough, most all-time there. Martin would reach career milestone 50 poles if he wins the pole this weekend.
16 – Different leaders at Bristol on April 9, 1989. Won by Rusty Wallace, 16 of the 32-car field led at least one lap.
40 – Lead changes at Bristol on April 14, 1991, the most ever at Bristol. Starting from the pole, Rusty Wallace won that event. Eight different drivers exchanged the top spot, with Ricky Rudd leading the most laps (145).
50th Career win number for Jimmie Johnson, March 21, 2010. It was also the site of Rusty Wallace’s 50th win, on March 26, 2000.
500 – Laps led by Cale Yarborough on March 25, 1973. It was the only time a driver led every single lap at Bristol. Yarborough won the race by two laps over runner-up Richard Petty

Qualifying: Ryan Newman- 128.709 mph, 14.908 seconds on March 21, 2003
Race: Charlie Glotzbach – 101.074 on July 11, 1971

Driver’s Thoughts on Bristol(embedded audio files)
Kyle Busch On Bristol
AJ Allmendinger on Bristol
Tony Stewart on Bristol
Kurt Busch on Bristol
Carl Edwards on Bristol

Entry list
2011 Entry List


Related External Links

Comments are closed.